Interview: Sines

english version first. for the german version scroll down.
Für die deutsche Übersetzung des Interviews nach unten scrollen.

Continuing with my little Interviewjourney…
Sines aka Leroy Bella is a 29-year-old Dubstep Producer outta Passadena, Texas, USA.
With the Gulf of Mexico at close quarters, you could assume that he is influenced by the tornodas passing by… Perhaps he is influenced by the nature, but not perhaps in other things then thunderstorms or tornados. He has found his own unique style, discovering the nice, ambient, 2-step vibes of dubstep music. In this little interview I heard some interesting facts, which you can read now:

Why is your name Sines ?

Sines: Well, at the time I made the Name I was trying to think of something mysterious… So I thought Signs. Then I thought sine waves and put two and two together and came up with Sines.

When did you start making beats?

Sines: I started off making Hip Hop in 2000, moved to Drum ‘n’ Bass and failed horribly. I pretty much tought myself everything know. I just really gave up on it. Heard Dubstep in 2006 and fell in love instantly.

What has changed since 2000?

Sines: I feel with every tune I make it gets better. A lot of sounds have changed and I feel like I have learned way more then I knew then. But there will always be more to learn!

Which tune from yourself you like the most?

Sines: Man, that’s a tough one… But if I had to choose one it would be ‘Games’. After finishing that tune I felt it was like one of the best I had done. And I got alot of good feedback on it as well.

Would you say there is a tune that changed your career or one that is very important for you?

Sines: Yes! I actually have two tunes that have done that. Both are done by me. One entitled ‘JSB’ and the other one is: ‘That Thing She Does’. Both of these tunes are inspired by my daughter. Most of all my built up emotion in my tunes are about her.

How long does it take you to create/finish a tune?

Sines: Usually anywhere from two days to two weeks. That being the longest and the shortest.

What do you do when you don’t sit in your studio and make tunes?

Sines: Usually work, play alot of xbox360. I’m a homebody. :)

What’s the best medicine/thing to do, that you don’t fall asleep in an extra long studio session?

Sines: Usually I get tired of my tunes really easily. I’ll just start a new one up so I won’t fall asleep! heh

Many of your Tunes are very chilled/ambient. Did you ever felt the urge to create something very ‘breaky’ and hard?

Sines: Yeah, believe me I try… Many People seem to stay away from some chilled stuff, but there’s a few tunes of mine out there that are breaky and hard. I make what I feel at the moment, which seems to be alot of chilled out stuff…

Some of your tunes have a big garage/2 step influence, do you wan’t to keep things oldschool?

Sines: All I have to say on that is 2 Step Revival! It’s coming…

You produce that much tunes, it’s hard to believe that you find enough time to sleep/to work…

Sines: Yeah, most times I get off work and work on tunes for hours. Sometimes I lose alot of my time just sitting there working on beats and it’s time to go to bed then. Then back up and do it again. Rinse and repeat…

What were the reasons/the reason to start your own label?

Sines: I want to get the little guys names out there. There are tons and tons of producers who aren’t getting heard, but that need to get heard. There is so much quality music that people are missing.
I feel by having my label that I can do as much possible to do so.

How is the dubstep scene in your hometown?

Sines: Dubstep is still growing in Houston. I would say it is pretty well sized tho. I would’ve never heard Dubstep if it weren’t for my friend Suraj K. (Big Up Gritsy!)

What can we expect next from you/your label?

Sines: Next up on 003 we have Late from Finland bringing some deepness and 004 will be the mysterious XxXy from the UK. After that there will be tunes from Hyetal (Bristol), Shortsuff (Nottingham), myself and some remix work from the man Forsaken (Bristol). Lots of other stuff lined up as well, so look out!

Thanks for the interview! For fresh tunes from Sines check: www.myspace.com/sinesofthefuture
Or go the Label Pages: www.myspace.com/formantrecordings , www.formant-recordings.com.

Leroy Bella, vielen besser bekannt als Sines, ist ein 29-jähriger Dubstep-Produzent aus Texas.
Da der Golf von Mexiko nur einen Steinwurf von seiner Heimatstadt entfernt ist, könnte man meinen er orientiert sich musikalisch an den vorbeiziehenden Tornados. Doch Sines beschäftigt sich mit der deepen, atmosphärischen Seite des Dubstep. Im folgenden Interview nun ein paar interessante Fakten über ihn:

Warum nennst du dich Sines?

Sines: Ich habe nach etwas mysteriösem gesucht. Also bin ich auf ‘Signs’ gekommen. Dann dachte ich an ‘Sine Waves’ und so kam eins zum andern.

Wann hast du mit dem Produzieren angefangen?

Sines: Ich habe 2000 angefangen Hip Hop zu produzieren und ging dann über zu Drum ‘n’ Bass. Und scheiterte kläglich… Ich habe mir alles was ich über das Produzieren weiss selbst beigebracht und habe irgendwann einfach aufgegeben. 2006 habe ich dann zum ersten Mal Dubstep gehört und habe mich sofort verliebt!

Was hat sich seit 2000 verändert?

Sines: Ich denke das ich mit jedem Track den ich mache besser geworden bin. Viele Sounds haben sich seitdem verändert und ich denke das ich viel neues gelernt habe. Aber es gibt immer noch mehr zu lernen!

Welchen deiner eigenen Tracks magst du am liebsten?

Sines: Hmm, das ist eine schwere Frage! Wenn ich einen wählen müsste, dann wäre das wohl ‘Games’. Nachdem ich den Track fertig hatte, hatte ich das Gefühl das es einer der besten ist, den ich bis jetzt gemacht hatte. Ausserdem habe ich viel gutes Feedback bekommen.

Gibt es einen Track der deine Karriere verändert hat oder der dir sehr wichtig ist?

Sines: Ja, da gibt es eigentlich zwei Tracks die das getan haben! Der erste ist ‘JSB’ und der zweite heisst ‘That Thing She Does’. Beide Tracks sind inspiriert durch meine Tochter. Die meisten Emotionen in meinen Tracks sind durch sie entstanden.

Wie lange brauchst du um einen Track fertig zu stellen?

Sines: Der längste Zeitraum zog sich über zwei Wochen, der kürzeste zwei Tage.

Was machst du wenn du gerade nicht im Studio sitzt und an Tracks bastelst?

Sines: Arbeiten, viel xbox360 spielen…Mein Leben spielt sich viel bei mir zu Hause ab. ;)

Was ist die beste ‘Medizin’ um in einer langen Studiosession nicht einzuschlafen?

Sines: Ich bin sehr schnell gelangweilt von meinen Tracks. Also fange ich einfach mit einem neuen an um nicht einzuschlafen! Hehe…

Viele deiner Tracks sind sehr ruhig, hast du nie das verlangen mal etwas sehr wildes oder hartes zu machen?

Sines: Ja schon und ich versuche es auch immer wieder… Viele Leute scheinen dem ruhigen Kram nicht so nahe zu stehen, aber es gibt auch ein paar härtere Tracks von mir. Ich versuche in meinen Produktionen immer das unterzubringen was ich gerade fühle und das scheinen sehr oft ruhige Sachen zu sein.

Deine Tracks haben auch oft einen 2 Step Einfluss, bist du ein Fan des alten Kram?

Sines: Alles was ich dazu sagen werde ist: 2 Step Revival! Es wird kommen…

Was waren die Gründe für dich dein eigenes Label zu starten?

Sines: Ich will die unbekannten Artists bekannt machen. Es gibt Tonnen von guten Produzenten, deren Werke nie gehört werden, so viel hochqualitative Musik die die Leute verpassen. Ich habe das Gefühl mit meinem eigenen Label kann ich dem ein wenig gegenwirken.

Du produzierst so viel, es ist schwer zu glauben das du genug Zeit zum Arbeiten oder Schlafen findest…

Sines: Ja, meistens komme ich von der Arbeit und sitze erstmal ein paar Stunden vor dem Computer und arbeite an Tracks. Manchmal habe ich die Zeit nicht richtig im Blick, gucke auf die Uhr und es ist schon wieder Zeit zu Bett zu gehen. Dann schnell ein Back Up machen und wieder von vorne anfangen. Rinse und Repeat…

Wie ist die Dubstep Szene in Houston?

Sines: Die Szene ist immer noch am wachsen aber es ist aber schon okay hier denke ich. Ich hätte niemals von Dubstep gehört, wenn es nicht Leute wie meinen Freund Suraj K. geben würde. (Big Up Gritsy!)

Was können wir demnächst von deinem Label erwarten?

Sines: Auf Nummer 003 bringt Late aus Finnland uns die deepness, 004 wird vom mysteriösen Produzenten XxXy aus England kommen. Danach werden Tunes von Hyetal (Bristol), Shortsuff (Nottingham), mir selbst und ein Remix von Forsaken kommen. Da ist noch so viel in der Pipeline… Also: Augen aufhalten!

Vielen Dank für das Interview! Wer sich Tracks von Sines anhören will, sollte www.myspace.com/sinesofthefuture checken. Die Homepage von seinem Label Formant Recordings ist: www.myspace.com/formantrecordings oder www.formant-recordings.com.

Leave a Reply

